Seeking recommendation for what to learn If I wanted to start making my own game (3d) given that I am a complete beginner.

iwillbeinghere4

Registered
Lewd
May 24, 2023
LC COIN
Just as the title suggests I want to start development on my own game but I don't know where to even begin. I have some programming experience (web development mostly).

bjazzy

Registered
Lewd
May 6, 2023
LC COIN
YouTube has a lot of good stuff. Look there. Programming language depends on what type of game you want to make .most people here use python

Reactions: 1 user

eezergoode

Registered
Aug 15, 2023
LC COIN
It depends on what type of game you are interested in making, and what art style you are looking to use. Are you making VN, and if so, what kind? An RPG? Free roam with active 3d models? Are you looking for more anime style? More photo-realistic? Or something in between? All of these would affect what videos and playlist we can recommend.

cantus

Registered
Jul 19, 2023
LC COIN
I can't speak for the original poster, but I would love some playlist recommendations!
I want to do photo-realistic 3dcg, preferably with animated idles and backgrounds if that's at all practical (I've only seen a few examples of this). VN with some free roam elements.
I've got plenty of writing and dev experience but new to CG art and animation.

I've seen some nice demos of generating animated backgrounds pretty quickly in Promethean AI, but I've never tried it myself and never built a 3d model or animated anything.

eezergoode

Registered
Aug 15, 2023
LC COIN