Basis in Cinematic film study

h3n741.g33k

Registered
Lewd
LV

Sep 23, 2023
LC COIN
Since this thread is empty since reset and dev site port, I wanted to make at least one helpful tutorial. Been too busy till now and only reason available atm is I am statying up all night due to insomnia and have had a bit to drink, but that aside, I have been studying film entertainment from academic/creative direction peespective for about idk even, 22 years now.

I may not have jack to show for it portfolio wise due to poverty and wage slavery but despite these I do have a BA in game design and associates in traditional graphic design, both minoring in public relations/psychology and I studied film direction and concept composition long before both degrees. Point is, I have knowledge, knowledge is power, use of this power can liberate you, and I believe in net neutrality teir freedom of exchange of information. AKA that all knowledge aught be free to any whom seek it. That sharing this betters the community at large and aids in allowing those starting out to create and realize their dreams. A bit altruistic maybe, but just the same I am believer of "make the world that you want to see" so, figured I'd share.

So, to the first bit, if you want to start out in creative direction, I highly recommend the following resources:

The old school "How to Draw Manga" series of books, all 30+/- of them. This teaches you the traditional process of comic/manga production, various styles and how to draw many different applications from sports to martial arts to mecha to comic book VFX. In particular the costume encyclopedias (3 large volumes) and stuff like the Martial Arts reference book for showcasing how to draw ***accurate*** action sequences.

Next is the trifecta standard of the entertainment arts industry works on resources. 1) Disney's 1910s "animation: the illusion of life" 2) The animators survival guide kit 3) 30$ film school-> an indie self help text book.